Queen of Shadows book review

Queen of Shadows (book 4)79484_original

Series: Throne of glass

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Page count: 645

Genre: YA fantasy

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Goodreads Blurb: here

SPOILER FREE

 


“Lets go rattle the stars”

 WOW!

Honestly I’m lost for words because this book was just beautiful. Sarah J Maas outdid herself! The brilliance of this book seriously I NEED BOOK 5!

I’m a mess right now

I'm_in_a_glass_case_of_Emotions.gif

YES THE EMOTIONS!

The first part of the novel was meh, not really as gripping as I hoped so I did put it down for a while! But when I got to the second half, I was speechless.

The development this series goes through, the way Sarah J. Maas writes is just fantastic. My favourite thing about this book is DEFINITELY Lysandra. The development of her character and that twist I didn’t see coming at all. I’ve always like Lysandra and hoped there would be more of her after The Assassin’s Blade, I kept remembering the events of The Assassin’s blade and my heart ached. The development of Lysandra and Celaena’s friendship, two kickass female characters who become friends to avenge their loved ones, can I get a hell yes?

BY THE WAY ANYONE ELSE WHO SHIPS AEDION AND LYSANDRA?

This book was a roller coaster of emotions, I swear don’t ever read this book on the bus or anywhere public.

MANON BLACKBEAK IS MY NEW FAVOURITE CHARACTER! I FREAKING LOVE MANON. I ALWAYS HAVE SINCE HEIR OF FIRE AND THIS BOOK JUST MADE ME LOVE HER MORE. Her cunning, fierce character, her and Celaena would make a deadly team. Better watch out Perrington!

ok new ship: MANON AND DORIAN ANYONE ELSE? I think there would be pretty interesting as a couple and those scenes, HE REMEMBERED HER NAME!

but Chaol and Dorian’s bromance argh I love them so much.

The women in this series are EXTRAORDINARY. So many kickass female characters: Elide who is so brave and fiercely determined, Lysandra and Nesryn, I LOVE THEM SO MUCH! Also prepare to fall helplessly in love with Astrin, the complexity and intensity of her story, she’s so beautiful and strong, her story will move you to tears. Again don’t read this book in public! take it from me, you don’t want to.

As much as I loved this book, not going to lie, I was annoyed at SJMAAS about some parts in this novel.

(may contain minor romance spoilers)

Firstly Chaol. His character, just so off and different. He just changed, and firstly I thought maybe it was the events that happened in Heir of fire until I was like no he is just so out of character. Him and Celaena had a beautiful relationship, I will never forget that. Crown of midnight is definitely my favourite after Heir of fire. It really pissed me off that SJMAAS was writing like nothing happened between them, like they had no history, they were always fighting and arguing and it made me sad to be honest. For those who read Crown of midnight, you know there was love; beautiful, painful love you can never forget,

“The rest of the world quieted into nothing. In that moment, after ten long years, Celaena looked at Chaol and realised she was home.”

I was a hardcore Chaolaena shipper and I loved them so much together, but when Rowan came in the picture, I’m sorry Chaol but I was all for Rowan and Celaena, I don’t know something changed and Rowan and Celaena just felt right to me ok! Heir of fire was beautiful, their friendship was precious, that’s what I loved about them. Their friendship, the slow building of it. But I definitely think in this book SJMAAS should’ve taken Celaena and Rowan’s relationship a tad bit slower.

But whatever issue i had with this book was completely wiped away while reading the second half!

This was me throughout:

SCREAMING OH MY GOD

OH MY GOD CRAP NO WAY

THIS ISN’T HAPPENING

NO NO NO NO

I WILL KILL YOU SARAH J. MAAS

Sarah J. Maas you are horrible for killing me. How many times I was scared the life out of!

This book was brutal and beautiful. I really enjoyed the story immensely but nothing can compare to Heir of fire. Heir of fire is my baby.

RATING: 4.5/5 

Even though certain things didn’t go the way I wanted them to, I cannot deny the beauty and brilliance of this book! I highly recommend this series, be prepared to fall in love with a kickass herione and Rowan Whitethorn (well you’ll have to wait until Heir of fire for that).

I NEED BOOK 5

11148539.gif


All I can think right now is how much I want book 5! Thank god there was no cliffhanger, that would’ve made the wait even worse! I hope we get something regarding book 5 soon like a TITLE AND A COVER REVEAL!

-Thechroniclesofabookworm

6 thoughts on “Queen of Shadows book review

  1. I agree about Chaol. I can live with him and Celaena/Aelin not being together, but I don’t think they would come to dislike each other/not get on like they do in this book. I think they would be friends at least. We’ll see what happens in books 5 and 6!
    I LOVE Chaol and Dorian. The scene they have together near the end of this book was my highlight. Other than that the highlight is Manon who I think is brilliant.
    Can’t wait for book 5 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome review! I felt exactly the same way about this book – my emotions were all over the place and OMG I cannot contain myself waiting for book 5! I LOVE Manon’s character too, and that fight scene between her and Aelin was AMAZING! I completely agree with what you said about Chaol – I didn’t understand why he was constantly treating her like the enemy, and as if they weren’t on the same side… it just didn’t make sense to me, and his behaviour was so frustrating. The more annoying I found Chaol, the more I seemed to ship Rowan and Aelin haha. But I do love Rowan regardless, I’m so happy that happened! I think a lot of people were angry because they wanted Chaol/Celaena, but I think they make so much sense together,

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES OH MY GOD HER AND AELIN, they would make a deadly team if they work together! and yes ME TOO I LOVE ROWAN SO MUCH, ROWAN AND AELIN ARE PERFECT! oh my god my feels.Yeah there are so many Chaolaena shippers, not going to lie I did ship them throughout ToG and CoM but as soon as I got to HoF, Aelin and Rowan just felt so right to me and I’ve shipped them since then 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I shipped them too, but like you said, when she met Rowan it kind of just felt right! I loved her with Chaol, but I think he spent so long with the wrong priorities and loyalties, that he could never have been truly right for her in the end – he was serving the enemy for too long and refusing to see it. I’ll be interested to see if any of the feelings she had for Chaol resurface in the next book, but I’m kind of hoping they don’t because Rowan is just too perfect!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

