Throne of Glass book review

Throne of Glass (book 1)Throne_of_Glass_UK

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Page count: 404

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Genre: Young adult Fantasy

Goodreads blurb: here

SPOILER FREE!!!


 

“Libraries were full of ideas–perhaps the most dangerous and powerful of all weapons.”

Everyone by now probably knows about my love for this series. I mean I love it as much as Harry Potter so yes this is a must read!!!

The truth is I saw the cover on Goodreads and instantly fell in love, I mean look at that cover, it literally screams READ ME! and then I read the blurb and I was like I have to get this! I didn’t know what to expect from it, I just got it and it was the best decision I’ve made because this book, this book was AMAZING.

At first it was slow. Really slow. When I started reading it, it was a bit tricky for me to get into, I wasn’t connecting with the characters and I just felt like nothing was happening so I just put it down and read it whenever until I got to around chapter 26. I think it was when Elena showed up and then it was like BAM, I was instantly hooked, I couldn’t put it down. I knew something big was going to happen, all the action was going to start and I felt so excited to read on. I know it took quite a while to get into but it was totally worth not giving up on. But that’s just me, you may be hooked from the first sentence. There was a lot of mystery and suspense throughout the whole book, which definitely kept me going.

I absolutely loved the book. Especially Celaena, even though she is supposed to be miserable, which she should be due to her hard year and the series of misfortune in her life, she is full of light and laughter, this is what I loved about her, she’s not weeping around over her heartbreak or her punishments and all the pain she endured. Which lets be honestly most of the female characters out there would drown in misery but Celaena, she is such a strong and brave protagonist, which instantly made her my favourite heroine of all time. GUYS SHES ALSO A BOOK LOVER, isn’t she just perfect? and she’s hilarious and sassy and honestly I just love her!

“My name is Celaena Sardothien. But it makes no difference if my name’s Celaena or Lillian or Bitch, because I’d still beat you, no matter what you call me.”

I love Nehemia, she’s such a good friend to Celaena, and she’s so brave and bold, everything she does for her people is so beautiful. I absolutely love her. Also Chaol, I’m hopelessly in love with him, and YES I SHIP CELAENA AND CHAOL SO HARD OH MY GOD!!!

“No matter what happens,” she said quietly, “I want to thank you.”
Chaol tilted his head to the side. “For what?”
Her eyes stung but she blamed it on the fierce wind and blinked away the dampness. “For making my freedom mean something.”

“With each day he felt the barriers melting. He let them melt. Because of her genuine laugh, because he caught her one afternoon sleeping with her face in the middle of a book, because he knew that she would win.”

This pretty much says it all!

tumblr_m91fzvWiyu1rruvux.gif

Oh my god and Dorian is so sweet and so caring, I don’t know what to really say about his character, I mean I feel like he’s character needs more developing and even Chaol, who I just want to hug, he is so cute I can’t even!

After finishing Throne of glass, I went to Goodreads to see if people loved it as much as me, but instead I saw a series of negative comments about Celaena being “obnoxious” , “arrogant”, “selfish” and so on and then I read this comment that really stuck in my head, I don’t know who wrote it but they said something along these lines, yes celaena may be those things, she may be very arrogant or  but so are guys, no one complains when guys are arrogant, in fact we fall hopelessly in love so why can’t a girl be confident?

I totally agree, these comments about Celaena only caring about dresses and beauty really got to me because reading this series, I understood Celaena in so many ways especially in Crown of Midnight, which I’ll be reviewing soon. So what if she likes to wear dress or put make up on or dance? She may be an assassin but she still has a life, do people expect her to sit around, be miserable and go on a killing spree?

For all those people with negative  thoughts about Celaena and ToG, go read Crown of Midnight then The Assassin’s Blade! In the Assassins Blade you will really see the things Celaena has been through and you will see her character grow! to be honest, I definitely enjoyed Crown of Midnight more than Throne of Glass, it easily made the series become a favourite!

Before I carry on rambling on about my love for this book and the characters, let me just tell you, if you enjoy YA, a bit of magic and a tint of humour and romance, if you love fantasy books, then I highly recommend this series. I recommend this to everyone, it is a must read! You will not regret reading this book or the following book, Crown of Midnight that I just finished re reading. I hope for those who read this book, you enjoyed it as much as I did. And for those who haven’t, go get and read it. It’s absolutely worth it.

My rating: 4/5


 

So I absolutely loved this read, which you probably got from the review above, seriously it was fantastic, Sarah J. Maas has done a brilliant job with her writing style and characters!

GO READ THIS BOOK!

-Thechroniclesofabookworm

Leave a Reply

