The Shadows Between Us |Book review

The Shadows Between Us

35702241Author: Tricia Levenseller

Publisher: Feiwel and Friends

Page count: 336

Release date: 25th February 2020

Goodreads synopsis:

Alessandra is tired of being overlooked, but she has a plan to gain power:

1) Woo the Shadow King.
2) Marry him.
3) Kill him and take his kingdom for herself.

No one knows the extent of the freshly crowned Shadow King’s power. Some say he can command the shadows that swirl around him to do his bidding. Others say they speak to him, whispering the thoughts of his enemies. Regardless, Alessandra knows what she deserves, and she’s going to do everything within her power to get it.

But Alessandra’s not the only one trying to kill the king. As attempts on his life are made, she finds herself trying to keep him alive long enough for him to make her his queen—all while struggling not to lose her heart. After all, who better for a Shadow King than a cunning, villainous queen?


❝ They’ve never found the body of the first and only boy who broke my heart… and they never will❞.

The thing that really drew me to this book were two words “slytherin romance”

Oh how my hopeless romantic heart has been waiting for this and when I read the first sentence, I knew I instantly would love this book.

This book follows Alessandra, who is tired of being second, of always being overlooked because of her older sister. So she makes a plan consisting of only three things, Woo the King, Marry him and finally kill him and take the Throne. What she does not anticipate is the challenges and obstacles she would face in Court. This book enthralled me from the moment I read the first line. The writing sank its claws into me, gripping me until I finished. I did not move, I finished in one sitting and I was thinking about the book and the characters, long after the lights went out.

The world was intoxicating and rich, of lush details of court and politics that pulled me in. There was all our favourite tropes: a torturous slow burn romance, fake dating and hate to love. There was also a murder mystery, intrigue, suspense, magic and action and the BEST of all: LOTS OF ROMANCE! There was never a dull moment. I absolutely loved the characters, especially our protagonist and her villainous personality. We need books with main villainous female characters. Alessandra was cunning, unapologetic and fiery. She didn’t need a blade but used her brain to keep about her wits in a traitorous court. Our other main character, Kallias (I’m swooning already) ah he was a perfect match for Alessandra. Two dark rulers coming together, their character development was excellent.

This book was so much fun!  The quick witted characters, the banter and the plot twist at the end. I was not expecting that! This may be one of my favourite books, I cried, laughed and swooned. This is my first book by this author and it made me want to instantly buy and read all her other books. Daughter of the Pirate King has been on my TBR for so long as well!

This book is perfect for fans of Throne of Glass and The winner’s trilogy, I really felt vibes from both these books as I read about Alessandra. This is not a book to be missed, don’t forget to preorder now! There is also an amazing preorder incentive so don’t miss out on that too!

                       RATING: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Thank you to the publisher for sending me a copy exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

4 thoughts on “The Shadows Between Us |Book review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s