A court of mist and fury book review

A court of mist and fury (book 2) 23766623

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Genre: fantasy

Page count: 624

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Goodreads blurb: here

This review may contain spoilers!



“To the stars who listen— and the dreams that are answered.”

So I just finished ACOMAF and I need to write this review now before I forget my thoughts but I’m so speechless. Just wow. Writing this review will be hard as it requires words and I actually don’t have any.

Ok so, ACOTAR was good but this, this just blew it out of the water, I’m enthralled. ACOMAF is leagues better than ACOTAR. I feel like ACOTAR had so much potential but there was just something missing, so many things that weren’t explored and ACOMAF filled all the missing pieces.

ACOMAF was everything I hoped for. More action. That’s definitely something ACOTAR was lacking but wow this one just wow. We also got more Rhys. I’m completely and utterly in love with him and his character development. We were only introduced to him towards the ending of ACOTAR and he was such a mysterious, intriguing character and I’m so happy we got so much more of him. I love his character so much, he’s so mysterious as well as playful and dangerous and I love the story behind him. OH THAT STORY. IT BROKE MY HEART TO PIECES. We see Rhysands compassionate character that he hides. I love him so much. he’s become my favourite male character. ever.

I can’t express how much I loved this book. One of the best books I’ve ever read. Sarah J. Maas is a goddess. The writing was amazing, so rich and raw with emotion. The way Maas describes, it takes my breath way.

I’m in love with Feyre. The character growth she goes through this book as she battles through the past events. I really enjoyed reading about her. Can we talk about the new characters now? holy shit. Dream squad. Mor, Az, Cassian and Amren. I loved these new characters. There were so complex, and there was so much depth to them, they all had a backstory and I want more. more. more. They definitely made the story more intense and exciting. I just want more Amren. please and thank you. Also Nesta. Nesta is a badass oh my god I’m so glad we got more of her, she’s a really interesting character and is now one of my favourite female characters because I love cold hearted female characters who can challenge Illyrian warriors. Did you guys read that exclusive story in the Target edition? I don’t have the Target edition but Dahabo (you can find her blog here), the angel sent me a link and ahhhhh the story made me love Nesta even more. She is so fierce and snarky. Her and cassian. yes please. Tell me you all ship those two?!!!

The romance. oh the romance.

That slow burning romance. SJM did it right this time. if you guys read my ACOTAR review, you’d know that I was not a fan of the romance in ACOTAR. It was too fast, too forced. But this, the romance between Feyre and Rhysand. My ultimate OTP. Honestly they are a perfect match for each other. The romance was so slow, flirtatious but it wasn’t the centre of everything completely. Feyre and Rhysand come together slowly through all the action and unlike ACOTAR.

“I’m thinking that I was a lonely, hopeless person, and I might have fallen in love with the first thing that showed me a hint of kindness and safety. And I’m thinking maybe he knew that—maybe not actively, but maybe he wanted to be that person for someone. And maybe that worked for who I was before. Maybe it doesn’t work for who—what I am now.” 

This made A LOT of sense. I just knew it. Honestly I felt nothing between Feyre and Tamlin and when Feyre said this I was just like YESSSSS!!!!

The slow romance between Feyre and Rhys created something deep between the characters, something beautiful and OH MY GOD OK OK

16144032.gif

SPOILER ALERT SPOILER ALERT SPOILER ALERT

I freaking knew they were mates. I expected it, I just felt it in my bones and AHHHHH FEYSAND IS MY HEART AND SOUL.

guys ok *sighs* I don’t want to talk about this. but I’m going to anyway because I need to get it off my chest.

TAMLIN. freaking Tamlin.

I know people say that his character was ruined bla bla bla but to be honest as I read on, it made sense to me. I WANTED TO SCREAM AND HIT HIM. THANK GOD HE WASNT IN THE BOOK MUCH. What he did to Feyre, I was furious. HOW DARE YOU? It’s sad though because I realised towards the end, he thinks he’s doing the right this but no no no  but I love how empowered Feyre became. She grew into her own person which I loved so much. Part of this book was definitely about Feyre finding herself. Deciding on her own what she wants to do, making her own choices and really growing as a character.

tumblr_inline_n6ma3t1ISU1qhgk1x.gif

Another reason why I love Rhys, for encouraging Feyre, to be her own person, make her own decisions, not to let anyone walk all over you. I love that he wants her at his side, as an equal. He values women and I love that about him. I LOVE YOU SO MUCH RHYS. PLEASE BE MINE.

RATING: 5/5

4 stars is just for Rhys. No but seriously this book, it deserves all the stars in the world. It book was full of action, it was thrilling and magical and I enjoyed every bit of it. I loved it with all my heart and my soul. The Night court, oh it’s so magical and beautiful and reading about it, I just want to live there! I can’t believe we have to wait another year for the final book! There wasn’t a cliffhanger but there was, I don’t know I JUST NEED THE NEXT BOOK!!!!

-Thechroniclesofabookworm

 

 

2 thoughts on “A court of mist and fury book review

Leave a Reply

