A court of thorns and roses

A court of thorns and roses (book 1)24480684

Author: Sarah J. Maas (aka my queen)

Genre: fantasy

Page count:  416

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Goodreads blurb: here

Spoiler free review!!



 

“We need hope, or else we cannot endure”

I’m just going to start with saying I will most definitely love everything by Sarah J. Maas. Her writing is so rich and exquisite and beautiful. If you have yet to read any of her novels, you are missing out. A LOT.

So A court of mist and fury, the sequel has recently been released and I decided to join the party! I have no idea why I haven’t read ACOTAR until now. But I’m so glad I did. I was amazed by this unique read.

I found the beginning a bit slow, I don’t know if it slow because I was busy or it was just slow. I obviously didn’t give up and as soon and as soon as I hit the half way mark, I was ADDICTED. I couldn’t put it down. SJ Maas has a gift. She’s done it again. She has blown me away. I love Feyre. I love that she is strong for her family, even though they are ungrateful. How she even tries to learn to write to them. I really connected with her character. Her strong will. Her warrior and artist heart. I loved that Maas gave her so much depth. How her character develops. The beauty, the powerful and rich way Maas describes everything, I felt every single emotion as if it were my own.

My heart hurts.

I loved that we were reading from Feyre’s point of view, we got to experience Feyre’s feelings and understand the hardship she went through. She grew so much as a character and I honestly admired her courage and strength. I think one of the things that made this book very different from Throne of glass, which is by the way my favourite series ever is that it had so much more romance! which I’m not really keen about. I felt like there was no chemistry between Feyre and Tamlin, there wasn’t that connection and it just accelerated far too quickly. I remember when he declared his love and I was like wow I did not expect that because it was just too fast. Then I understood why at the end,  why the romance felt forced and unreal.

I love the development of Lucien and feyre’s friendship. This is probably what I enjoyed most. The pacing was perfect. Maas did an amazing job once again. The storyline was compelling, the plot was so interesting and despite it being a retelling, it felt like such a unique read and it mostly was Maas’s own creation with just a few hints of Beauty and the Beast, you wouldn’t even notice.

I loved the characters. Tamlin is such a bae honestly. He was so sweet, honestly not what I expected. I thought he was going to be cruel and I don’t know lock Feyre up or something, but he was the complete opposite. He was kind and selfless and I really liked his character. Also Rhysand, who is introduced near the ending of the book, he’s such a mysterious character and so charismatic, I’m pretty intrigued about him and I cant wait to get more of him hopefully in the next 2 books!

RATING: 4.5/5


So this was scheduled to post ages ago and I realised today it hasn’t, I have no idea why, hmm…

Guys I’m 98% done with ACOMAF and wow it completely blew ACOTAR out of the water, seriously ACOTAR was good but ACOMAF IS JUST ANOTHER LEVEL OF WOW!

I know lots of people didn’t enjoy ACOTAR but I promise you, you don’t want to give up because ACOMAF is just a book you all need to read. Damn writing a review for ACOMAF is going to be hard because that means I have to put words together and I don’t even have any words!

-Thechroniclesofabookworm

Leave a Reply

