Me before you book review

Me before you (book 1)12649718.jpg

Author: Jojo Moyes

Genre: Romance

Page count:  481

Publisher: penguin books

Goodreads blurb: here

SPOILER FREE YAY!

 


 

“Push yourself. Don’t Settle. Just live well. Just LIVE.”

Wow. Just wow.

I just finished and I’m trying to write this without crying.

This story follows a 26-year-old Lou who lives a small comfortable life with her family and boyfriend. After losing her job, she finds another as a carer to Will Traynor, who was paralysed after a motorbike accident. I know I mostly read fantasy but I’m a hopeless romantic. This book may seem cliché but it’s not at all. To be honest, it has little romance, although the blurb makes it seem like it’s just based on the romance. Of course there is a touch of love, this book showed the beauty and the realism of it. It was honestly so beautiful and special but I feel like it focused mainly on life and choices. It was about family, friendship and two people changing each other lives.

After hearing so many good things about this book I finally bought it and I read it in a day. As soon as I started I was completely sucked in and I couldn’t put it down. It was impossible well until my eyes gave out.

What I loved about this book were the characters. I became quickly attached to them and I completely connected with them. Especially Lou. I LOVED her character. Her peculiar dress sense, not giving a crap about what people thought. I honestly think that’s a life lesson right there. DON’T ever be afraid of what people would think, I don’t want to get all emotional but seriously it may be hard but just be yourself. I loved her witty and sarcastic character. She was hilarious, especially when she was in those awkward and embarrassing situations, kind of reminded me of my many embarrassing situations. From the beginning to the end, I think she grew so much as a character. In a good way.

I completely fell in love with the other main character. Will. I sympathised with him from the beginning. He was a bit of an arse but I love the way his relationship slowly developed between him and Lou. The pacing was perfect. I absolutely loved their little adventures, some may have been disastrous but I loved how Lou put her heart into it, how she tried so hard cheering him up. But it wasn’t just about Lou cheering him up; trying to change his mind, no it was about Will changing her too. Encouraging her to live her life outside her comfort zone. Will is determined to make her to make see things, to push her. I loved Will and Lou with all my heart. It hurts. I LOVE YOU WILL BUT I HATE YOU TOO.

I absolutely loved all the other characters. I loved Lou’s family. Their bond, I sympathized with Will’s family but I hated his dad. Oh I hated him. Shall I tell you else I hated? Patrick. I hated him from the beginning, when he said he’ll pay for the holiday and Lou smiles and then he adds you can pay me back later. Annoying self centered running man.

What I found absolutely wonderful was Jojo’s Moyes’ writing. The writing is simple and effortless and yet so heart wrenchingly beautiful.

“How is it you have the right to destroy my life, I wanted to demand of him, but I’m not allowed a say in yours?”

This book is real. It left me crying like a baby; with a hole in my chest that I don’t think I’ll ever recover from. It really broke me. But I get it. I absolutely do. To be honest I felt happy with the ending. That letter. Oh that letter. *cries all over again*. I guess I’m satisfied. I don’t think I can read After you though. I just can’t bear to, though I am quite curious.

RATING: 5/5

Actually all the stars in the world. I recommend this to everyone. Don’t think it’s a cheesy love story. It’s far from that. The cover doesn’t do it justice. Honestly just go read it.


Hey guys long time no see. how are you guys? I MISS POSTING ON MY BLOG.

I finally got my new charger. I was without my laptop for 3 bloody weeks but now guess who’s going to be more active? YAY.

Ok let me update you guys on my reading.

So I recently finished ACOTAR AND I GOT A COURT OF MIST AND FURY TODAY AND I’M FREAKING OUT. I’M SO EXCITED TO BE GETTING MORE RHYS. HE INTRGIUES ME. Has anyone read ACOMAF? Thoughts? (no spoilers though).

-Thechroniclesofabookworm

 

 

4 thoughts on “Me before you book review

Leave a Reply

