Salt to the sea book review

Salt to the sea 28103790

Author: Ruta Sepetys

Genre: historical fiction

Page count: 400

Publisher: Puffin books

Goodreads blurb: here

 

SPOILER FREE REVIEW!!!



 

“Your daughter, your sister. She is salt to the sea”

Where do I even begin?

I can’t tell you how much I enjoyed this read. This book was written so beautifully. I was mesmerised by the words, the language, this book was enchanting. I was completely blown away, honestly I can’t express how much I loved this book.

The story is told from multiple characters points of view. The main characters (Joana, Alfred, Florian and Emilia) were all so interesting, I love how Ruta Sepetys captured all their stories and intertwined them all. Each characters secret and story brought mystery to the story, which made me unable to put the book down. This book was so thrilling. The pace and story building was perfect, though at times I thought the story was going way too fast and I can literally not believe nearly 400 pages went by so quick.

I loved the characters so much. I quickly became attached to them and easily connected with them. Aahh this book gave me all the feels. Joana and Florian oh my god, I love that despite this tragic time, relationships were formed, and a  friendship like Emilia and Florian so beautiful and strong, it was heartbreaking. I ugly cried. I cried so much. I absolutely love history although I don’t study it and I’m sad that I didn’t know about this historic event. I was really curious and I of course researched about it after I finished. I suggest if you want to research about this, don’t do it while you’re reading this book to avoid potential spoilers. I loved reading about the multiple characters, although at first I thought Alfred was a bit unnecessary, I did find him intriguing but I don’t feel like he fit with the other story lines. He was an odd fellow and I didn’t really connect with him, he was very different from the rest of the characters, but I guess the author was trying to show how different people were effected by this horrific time.

Oh this book. I’m such an emotional reader, and this book made me cry so much. I couldn’t stop crying. I read this book in a day, it was a light and addictive read. It was perfect! Ruta Sepetys created such beautiful and brave characters. Each had a story. A secret. Seeing them all come together, friendships being formed and a beautiful heart wrenching romance. I wasn’t aware of this ships history and reading the authors note made me cry a bit more. My heart aches. This book is a masterpiece, a book you don’t want to miss out on!

The ending seemed a bit hurried to me. I was actually so confused. Something happened earlier, and then something completely different was happening. I was just like what? what? and it took me a while, maybe reading it over and over again 3 to 4 times to understand what was happening. And then I bawled.

This book was so eye opening and it will forever be a treasured book that will stick with me forever!

Go read this, I can’t recommend it enough! And prepare for feels and heartbreak!

RATING: 5/5



What an amazing refreshing read, I absolutely loved it and you should all add it to your TBRs especially historical fiction lovers! 🙂

Also happy Easter everyone for those who celebrate, hope you have a great one 🙂

-Thechroniclesofabookworm

 

 

Leave a Reply

