Books I was reading at 3am

Hello fellow book lovers,

So I was reading Cinder at 3am in the morning and then I got this idea for this blog post. These are the books I couldn’t put down, books that kept me up all night. I narrowed it down to 5 so here it goes.

  1. Cinder

cinder

blurb from GoodreadsHumans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

This was a light read, so quick paced, I was completely sucked in and I couldn’t put it down until I finished.

2. Half Bad

Half Bad: cover of first novel by Sally Green, predicted to be next Harry Potter or Twilight Saga

Blurb: Sixteen-year-old Nathan lives in a cage: beaten, shackled, trained to kill. In a modern-day England where two warring factions of witches live amongst humans, Nathan is an abomination, the illegitimate son of the world’s most terrifying and violent witch, Marcus. Nathan’s only hope for survival is to escape his captors, track down Marcus, and receive the three gifts that will bring him into his own magical powers—before it’s too late. But how can Nathan find his father when there is no one safe to trust, not even family, not even the girl he loves?

I enjoyed this read immensely, it was a quick read that kept me up all night.

Beware: May cause heart ache and crying. A lot of crying.

3. Legend

Legend_Marie_Lu_Book_cover

Blurb: What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths—until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

Loved this so much. I was completely mesmerised by Marie Lu’s writing. and the feel of god THE FEELS WERE TOO MUCH.

4. To all the boys I’ve loved before

15749186

Blurb: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister’s ex-boyfriend, Josh. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all.

This was the first Jenny Han book I read and its safe to say that I was not ok. My eyes wide open and I was literally gaping in the middle of the night after that cliffhanger! I just couldn’t.  Waiting for the sequel was complete, utter torture but I loved this story so very much, it may seem cliche who doesn’t love a good cliche once in a while?

5. Crown of Midnight

17670709

Second book to the Throne of Glass series:

blurb: Celaena Sardothien, royal assassin, is the King of Adarlan’s deadliest weapon. She must win her freedom through his enemies’ blood – but she cannot bear to kill for the crown. And every death Celaena fakes, every lie she tells, put those she loves at risk.

Torn between her two protectors – a captain and a prince – and battling a dark force far greater than the king, Celaena must decide what she will fight for: her liberty, her heart or the fate of a kingdom…

Completely and utterly gobsmacked. This book was extraordinary! just exceptional. One of my favourite books. I cannot even express my love for this book. I was mind blown. The first bit of the story may have been a little slow paced but the rest just fabulous. SO MUCH HAPPENS IN THIS BOOK. it may take a while to process everything and I really suggest you have Heir of Fire next to you when you finish this because cliffhanger!!! I didn’t have Heir of Fire and it was very painful.

—-

Ok so there are probably more books I was reading past my bedtime but I’m just going to leave it at 5.

What books kept you up all night?

Until next time,

-Thechroniclesofabookworm

 

2 thoughts on “Books I was reading at 3am

    1. oh yes do it. I look forward to it. I was reading Cinder at 3am and I just got the idea. Oh my god please do, I actually cannot wait for you to read it, I know for sure you’ll like it, its definitely up your street.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

